Skip to main content

Dakota County Community Development Agency (CDA)

Publicly Owned Subsidized Housing

Portland N&S/Biscayne Townhomes

Call for location

(651) 675-4504


Service Details


Housing owned and operated by a local government entity, such as a Public Housing Agency or a Housing Authority, which provides low-rent affordable housing to households with low incomes who are eligible

The rental amount paid by the resident is often determined based on the resident's income. Some housing has a low, fixed rent amount. Public housing comes in all sizes and types, from scattered single family houses to high-rise apartments. Some housing may be restricted to specific populations, such as older adults, families, or people with disabilities.

Additional Information

The Scattered Site Public Housing Program provides affordable housing to families with low- and moderate-incomes. Residents of scattered site housing pay 30% of their income towards rent.
The Community Development Agency (CDA) owns and manages 243 single family homes, duplexes, fourplexes and townhomes located throughout Dakota County.

Preference is given to applicants who currently live, work, are hired to work or go to school full-time in Dakota County and whose incomes are between the minimum and preference income limits for the program.


Public housing is for low-income households.

Your eligibility is based on:
* Annual gross income
* Whether you qualify as elderly, a person with a disability or as a family
* U.S. citizenship or eligible immigration status

If you are eligible, the Housing Authority will check your references to make sure you and your family will be good tenants. A Housing Authority may deny admission to any applicant whose habits and practices may be expected to have a harmful effect on other tenants or on the project's environment.

You must meet income guidelines. Income limits are set by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Income guidelines can be found on the HUD website. Check with the property management for specific income limits.

HUD sets the upper income limits at 80% of the median income for the county or metropolitan area in which you choose to live. Some housing is limited to people with very low income (50% of median income). Income limits vary from area to area so you may be eligible at one Housing Authority but not at another. The amount is adjusted each year and is based on family size.

Application Instructions

Call for more information. Some properties maintain waiting lists. There may be a long wait, or the waiting list may be closed.

Waiting list status is posted on the agency website

Area Served

Dakota County


Phone Numbers

Type Number Hours
Main (651) 675-4504

Last Update


Other Locations

Other Services or resources

This provider does not offer other services or resources at this location.

Taxonomy Terms Used. Clicking a taxonomy term from the list below launches a new search.: Clicking a taxonomy term from the list below launches a new search.